Which RSS reader do you use? Web-based or desktop

It seems that web-based RSS readers rule the Internet today, so I am wondering why nobody likes the offline RSS reader. In my point of view, I think the offline RSS reader is very good for travelers and commuters, because they could not get Internet connection all the time. I did some research and found very few articles about this topic. I think most people have experience with MS outlook which could download your Email from your mailbox and you can read it anytime you want. Is it great? I am not sure whether people do not like to use desktop based RSS reader or they don’t know about it. So I’d like to find out what the market share is for web-based and deskeop, as well as the ranking of different RSS readers. I only found RSS reader market share for web-based, but it’s a very old version. I really appreciate if anyone could help me find out the information. Thanks a lot.

RSS reader market share

News aggregators

2 Responses to “Which RSS reader do you use? Web-based or desktop”

  1. Alexandra Says:

    Hi Qingyi,

    I use Google Reader and I am quite happy with it. I don’t know very much about the difference between web-based aggregators and desktop aggregators. I understand that desktop readers must be downloaded, but what advantage does this have over web-based? You mentioned that web-based is good for travelers because they may not be able to access the Internet at all times. So, you don’t need to have Internet connection to get the feeds? That’s neat. Are there any other advantages to the web-based aggregators? I would suppose that it is not that people do not like web-based readers, they probably are just unfamiliar with them.

  2. Marco Says:

    I am also good with Google, I like that it works well with my other Google stuff (homepage, gmail) also I like being able to pull up the same reader when switching computers, I don’t look at my work stuff at home but, well…

Leave a Reply

